UTS announces new Chancellor

Catherine Livingstone AO FAICD, current president of the Business Council of Australia (BCA), has been announced as the new Chancellor of University of Technology, Sydney (UTS).

Livingstone will not take up the position until 1 December 2016, and in the interim, Brian Wilson will act as Chancellor. Wilson is currently Deputy Chancellor and has been a member of UTS Council since 2006.

In addition to her role with BCA, Livingstone is chair of Telstra and has held board positions with Worley Parsons and Macquarie Bank. She is also a former CEO of Cochlear and was chair of CSIRO from 2001 to 2006.

Livingstone will succeed Professor Vicki Sara AO, who will retire following the Council meeting in February.

The Australian Ballet has announced the appointment of Craig Dunn as its new chair. Dunn will take over from Jim Cousins AO, who was appointed chair for a two-year term in May 2013. As part of this planned succession, Dunn has spent the past six months working alongside Cousins to familiarise himself with all facets of the company and the sector.

Currently on the board of Westpac Banking Corporation, Dunn brings more than 20 years of financial and business sector experience to the position. He is also chair of the new fintech hub Stone & Chalk, a member of ASIC’s external advisory panel and a director of the Australian Government’s financial literacy board. Dunn also served as CEO of AMP from 2008 to 2013.

Iluka Resources has announced changes to its board of directors.

Wayne Osborn FAICD has announced his intention to retire as a director of the company effective from the close of the 2016 annual general meeting scheduled for May 2016. Osborn currently serves as an independent non-executive director and chair of the people and performance committee.

Effective 19 February 2016, Dr Xiaoling Liu will join the board of Iluka as an independent non-executive director. Dr Liu is a former president and CEO of Rio Tinto Minerals based in the US and is currently a non-executive director of Newcrest Mining. Her previous non-executive roles include board member of the California Chamber of Commerce; vice president of the board of Australian Aluminium Council and a member of the University Council of Tasmania.